Video: 10 Lessons on Storytelling from Films

“In the end, we’ll all become stories.” — Margaret Atwood

Hi my lovelies!

I hope you’re safe. I hope you’re staying indoors. I hope you and your loved ones are well and healthy.

I’ve been giving talks on creativity, storytelling and films for a number of years now. This is one of my favourites, which I recorded especially for Opus 40, a non-profit cultural organisation in Hudson Valley, New York.

Since the lockdown, they are offering online events, giving me an opportunity to participate from the other side of the world. (A giant bear hug to Abeer Hoque for connecting me to Caroline at Opus 40!)

There are two videos of 25 minutes each. I designed the talk not just for screenwriters but writers of all forms, as well as anyone who likes movies and wants to deepen their appreciation for cinema.

You can see the two videos here. I do hope you enjoy them!

There’s also going to be a 30-minute live Q&A on Sunday, 3rd May at 12 noon Eastern (9am Pacific, 5pm UK, 9.30pm India, 10pm Bangladesh – covering, I hope, the majority of you!). I’ll share details closer to the time.

I’m a little terrified that the Zoom call will be me in an echo chamber with nobody else on it, so if you do have any questions, please do ask! Feel free to post them in the comments box below, or email me on nupu@nupupress.com.

FYI: when I give talks, I’m usually a safe distance from everyone watching, and I can hide on a darkened stage where the focus is on the screen next to me where I show film clips. So this was an inordinately tough task to record myself.

I mean, sheesh, do I really look like that? Why do I pull those funny expressions? And why does my hair seem to have a mind of its own? It was quite excruciating.

I was to do another talk for Opus 40 on simplicity, which I’m afraid I ended up not doing due to other commitments. But now that I’ve braved the video camera, I may do more of these on various topics if they are fun/helpful to you.

The videos will be available for a week until the Q&A, so do please watch soonest if you’re interested!

The link again is here. I’d appreciate it if you would spread the word and share with anyone you think may be interested!

This is a rare occasion when I’m posting the same message on both blogs, so apologies to anyone who subscribes to both (for which, naturally, I love you). Other than the Q&A updates, I will refrain from doing so.

“I’d like to have money. And I’d like to be a good writer. These two can come together, and I hope they will, but if that’s too adorable, I’d rather have money.” — Dorothy Parker

Enjoy creativity?

Please add your email to get notified of new posts. No registration, no spam, only love.

You're awesome! Please share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.